Skip to content

Made By Arms

July 19, 2010

If you ask me, my last two weeks were pretty hectic. An hour ride on the bus, a quick stroll along the Dublin Grand Canal, and then 6 hours of intense sketching, pattern making, cutting, pinning, sewing, you name it!

Yes, I have finally made up my mind to enrol into Grafton Academy’s one month full time summer course to give a bit of a kick to my prolonged evening studies. So I literally breathed fashion and creativity all day long, which was amazing. But as inspiring and artistic as it sounds, I didn’t look anything like it – combats and t-shirts were my outfit every day. Not very ‘’designery’’, is it? So I though, it would be great to have some super comfortable, super practical clothes that also look stylish. And then I remembered that my friend Belle (who is a designer herself) mentioned this really cool brand.

Made by arms dublin fashion label

Created by Dublin based Australian designer Renate Henschke, the brand is called ARMS. Made by Arms clothes are inspired by the “environment and tools of modern craftspeople” and carry little details that resemble and serve so as to keep stationary products – like an envelope shaped pocket, or little placements for pens and pencils, the definite lines of a square meter stick. The clothes are pressed in a non compromising fashion, and the whole look is super neat and structured look but at the same time has a very artistic and quirky vibe.

http://www.madeforyoubyarms.com/aw-2009/womens-aw-2009/work-shirt

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I get sick of pretty and feminine and crave practicality, a kind of working uniform for running around and doing stuff. You know what I mean?

made by arms dublin fashion label

Subscribe to White Rabbit in a  Reader!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2010 4:40 pm

    Interesting designs. And I know what you mean about too much “pretty and feminine.” We can use some alternatives to that.

  2. July 20, 2010 10:49 pm

    These are nice. Uniformish but still girly, somehow!

  3. July 21, 2010 10:49 am

    Good tip, as much as I would loved to dress like Carrie Bradshaw everyday y I find myself loving combat trousers and easy tops…then after a few days one feels so “blokey”. Will take a further look at this brand, I’m hoping they have more colourful stuff?

  4. White Rabbit permalink*
    July 21, 2010 11:38 am

    I think ARMS work in neutral colours, and add little colourful details Jessie.

    Amy, that is exactly what I thought, a bit nerdy but still appealing 🙂

  5. July 21, 2010 12:24 pm

    Just had a more detailed look at their collection, they do have some nice colours added to the general neutral feel. Wish they had a stockist or online store I could get access to. Very nice stuff

  6. White Rabbit permalink*
    July 21, 2010 6:12 pm

    I am glad you found some colourful pieces Jessie! They are actually online soon http://www.madeforyoubyarms.com/

  7. July 22, 2010 10:42 am

    I LOVE that grey dress, it’s so gorgeous!

    Having dresses with pockets is brilliant, I don’t know why they ever stopped putting them in.

  8. White Rabbit permalink*
    July 22, 2010 6:23 pm

    Girls, I have just learnt that Arms decided to drop their womenswear and focus on menswear, the launch of their new menwear collection is next week. Will keep you updated, so you can spoil your second halves 🙂

Leave a Reply

