Skip to content

Delights at D-Light Studios

July 15, 2010

D-Light Studios

Seriously, I am terribly behind the times! Believe it or not, I first visited Dublin’s D-light Studios only a few weeks ago, when I heard about an exciting venue called Homeless Gallery. The idea behind Homeless Gallery is that everybody can exhibit their photographs, in any creative way they want.  The original concept came from two Polish photography teachers who wanted to provide their students with a platform to showcase their work. Since then, Homeless Gallery became an international venue, and now has finally been brought to Ireland, thanks to Agata Stoinska, photographer and  creator of D-Lights Studios.

D-Light Studios in Dublin

I am not exaggerating if I say that to me fashion communicates most effectively through images. Even when they are not explicitly fashion related, they inspire me. Photography captures the most elusive, the least obvious, yet the most powerful. A piece of clothing can be covetable, but put it into context, and it is  a completely different story.

D-Light Studios Dublin

When I heard about the exhibition from Karolina Schlagner, designer, stylist , and Agata’s personal assistant, I knew it will be an event worth visiting. So off I went on a beautiful Sunday evening. And a well spent Sunday evening it was! There was some really professional work, and some  personal photographs, and that is exactly what I liked; the exciting mix of styles, ideas, and skills and the buzz that surrounded it all. The studio oozed that exciting underground vibe that is so rare in Dublin.

Oh, and the cream on the cake was the studio’s first publication of  Blow magazine, a special issue focusing on participants taking part in ’Homeless Gallery’ Photography Exhibition, as well as artists participating in Photo Ireland Festival.

Blow Magazine Duiblin

A quick check on D-Light Studios revealed that there is much more to it. The studio space can be rented for photo shoots, film productions, and  product launches for a reasonable price, there are regular movie screenings, and professional photo shoot workshops. All pretty exciting! I am definitely going to have my eyes peeled on the upcoming events!

D-Lights Studios

Subscribe to White Rabbit in a Reader!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 8:15 am

    Wow, this is an absolutely gorgeous place! I will pay a visit once they have another gallery show. Thanks for featuring this, I wouldn’t know if not from you 🙂

  2. July 22, 2010 9:05 pm

    This looks wow, I would love to have gone, looks so creative and totally cool.

Trackbacks

  1. Homeless Gallery Revisited «

Leave a Reply

