Skip to content

When Fashion is a Vicious Circle

June 28, 2010

Last week I did a little experiment.
 
I went for some real window shopping. I say “real” because it wasn’t the usual “I just grab this one little tee and those fabulous pants” kind of window shopping. Honestly, I really didn’t have a penny with me, so there were no sneaky purchases on the side.
 
And it was an eye opener.
 
As usual, I got excited by many items and made mental notes to purchase them as soon as I can. And next day, when I though about whether I should actually buy those pieces, I realised that I was mainly attracted to one trend – the slouchy, raw, utilitarian pieces that oozed nonchalance and had that second hand vibe.
 
And then it all fell into pieces.

 
Of course! Today it is all about being thrifty and ethical, so nobody wants to look put together and expensive anymore. Oh no, we all want to look as if we were above fashion and our materialistic needs were the thing of the past. In our imagination we are wearing the father/ boyfriend/brother’s old rumpled t-shirt paired with torn combats, or a faded floral top from the local charity shop, washed over and over again, and we don’t care. We see ourselves as non-conformist travellers, breaking free and leaving all the earthy goods behind, hitting the road with only a battered backpack, ragged sneakers, and some practical layering.
 
Except, the scruffy tee, tattered combats, and the woebegone backpack costs us so much that we are considering to shorten the planned two week’s holiday to only one week, let alone our dream of hitting the road in hippie clothing.
 
Isn’t it just so clever, ironic and sad at the same time?
 
Deep in our hearts, we all want to escape the vicious circle of earning money, then spending it all, and then working all the hours to get a promotion, so we can spend even more. We want to be more self-sufficient, care less about our appearances (and still look gorgeous!), free ourselves from the nets of consumerism and live a free and ethical life.

 Isn’t it great that fashion knows us so well that it has the exact looks that will fit this image and at the same keep us in the circle?

Subscribe to White Rabbit in a Reader!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2010 9:30 am

    Ah yes. I love when people spend all their money to look like they haven’t spent any!

    That second hand, worn look is pretty easy to acheive with “ahem” actual second hand clothes….

  2. July 1, 2010 12:15 am

    I think I still fall under the category of wanting to look put together. Perhaps it’s because I don’t $98 to spend on distressed jeans that I look for pristine pairs for $12.

    But you are right about always being drawn to the same items, sometimes I feel like I need someone else to come in and edit my closet and tell me that I have four tops that all look the same and please get rid of three of them!

  3. July 2, 2010 4:53 pm

    Similarly, the bedhead messy hair look takes forever to style! My dad constantly complains when I pay a small fortune for clothes that are ripped and dirty looking! A recently bought distressed jeans shorts came with a tag that said “these items will rip and tear with use” and I still bought them – crazy!!!

    http://www.thewardrobewars.blogspot.com – take a look, we’d love your feedback – follow if you like what you see!

Leave a Reply

