Skip to content

Natural Look – Makeup Story

June 21, 2010

I started using make-up on a regular basis only a few years ago, so let’s face it, I am no makeup guru. But despite my lack of beauty experience, I have discovered a little secret.

I remember my father’s comment after one of my early experiments with makeup.  He said my face should look as if I was wearing no make up at all. My father likes to give random fashion advise, and if applied selectively, it is not always useless ;). Back then though, I thought it was pretty pointless, so I just went on using my colourful eye shadows and experimenting with eye liners. I guess for me, make up was more about changing the way I looked than enhancing my natural features.

It happened only recently that I started to really appreciate a naturally youthful and fresh look. I discovered the benefi of a good foundation when I am tired or stressed. I have also realised that it is indeed all about even skin tone. A few years ago I didn’t even know what they meant by even/uneven skin tone. I am not saying that a couple of years turned me into an old hag, but the fact that a bit of foundation can make me years younger does tell a lot. So after all the experimenting with different styles I have finally decided to take my father’s advice and go for the “invisible” makeup.

The benefits of having a makeup routine that works for me is that I don’t splurge on hot products, it only takes a few minutes to apply, and the result is always what I expect, which might sound boring but it is very practical in the morning rush.

So here are the 3 products and also some of my favourites I use to get the fresh faced look.

1. Clinique Superbalanced Foundation

It is an oily foundation which makes it very easy to apply but after a few minutes it blends in with my natural skin tone and becomes matt and dewy. I always apply it straight after moisturising which makes it easier to spread in an even way.

 2. L’Oreal light pink blusher.

For some reason bronzers make me look older, while a rosy blusher takes years off my face. It also makes my face look more natural and glowing.

3. Lancôme L’Extreme mascara.

It makes my eyelashes so long, that I don’t need to use anything else to enhance my eyes. Perhaps a touch of brown eyeliner applied on the inside of the lower lid.

LANCOME LEXTREME

 The rest are optional.

 4. Labello Cherry lip balm.

 Unfortunately, they don’t distribute it Ireland, so I get it in other countries whenever I can. It adds a beautiful shine to my lips while keeping them from drying out.

 5. Brown Eyeliner.

I only apply it on the inside of my lower lid to get a  bright eyed look.

 6. Neutral eye shadows.

Barely noticeable yet makes a difference.

Do you have a makeup routine? Would you like to share yours?

Subscribe to White Rabbit in a Reader!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2010 9:43 pm

    I’m also a big fan of the “invisible” makeup routine as well. It’s bad, but I hardly wear makeup on weekdays, but mostly on weekends. Even then, I like a very clean and simple look. I’m really curious about the Clinique Superbalanced Makeup and will make a note to check that out next time I’m at the counter. I currently use Bobbi Brown’s makeup, and although I wasn’t convinced at first, it’s really a barely-there foundation, but it evens out my skin so nicely.

  2. June 24, 2010 2:34 am

    My makeup routine varies on how much time I have! Bare minimum, some lotion with spf 15, powder foundation, blush, mascara, lipgloss.

    When I have a few more minutes, I love the play with eye shadows and liners, and I do still like to experiment with color. My favorite fun thing to wear is bright turquoise eyeliner!

  3. June 24, 2010 12:40 pm

    I’m the complete opposite! I’ve recently started wearing black liquid eyeliner and red lipstick more often during the day.

    I think mastering the natural look is important though, it’s a great base to build on if you want to try any thing more dramatic

Leave a Reply

