Skip to content

Cappucino and Caramel

June 8, 2010

Whether it was the influence of my post about classy style (meaning sticking with the basics), or a first step on my path towards happier mornings (meaning not trying to dig out a suitable piece of clothing from a  pile of useless rags every morning), I finally did a wardrobe clear out! And it wasn’t the usual half-hearted attempt to get rid of a few bits and pieces, oh no, it was a real bloody massacre! I was merciless! There was no place for “I’ve had these t-shirt since I was 18”, “maybe one day my style will change”, or “I just have to find a way to wear it” kind of thinking. Anything I didn’t wear at least once a month had to go into a huge black bin sack.

After a few hours of heartless sorting and resorting the results were quite surprising. Even though the rest of the house was a complete mess, my head still felt light and clear. Talking about getting to the root of the problem and sort out the basics! Dirtly floors and dusty shelves shall never bother me again as long as my closet is in order!!

 I also did something I have only read about in celebrity features but considered it too snobbish to try out myself – sorted my clothes by colours! That was very interesting too. All those year I thought I am slowly but steadily turning into a colourful creature but it was all a sham.  I have realised that my colour palette is rather monotone – black, shades of brown and grey, a few pieces in red. Getting dangerously close to classy, aren’t I? 😉
 
What brough life to my ”oh so serious” closet was in fact my collection of accessories in all kind of different colours. And that is the way I like it – keep the basics simple and make things exciting with accessories.

It is amazing how much you learn about your own style after an honest and ruthless assessment of your wardrobe!

I am wearing one of my favourite blouses, it is one of those super ancient pieces, I got it from a  friend of mine 7 years ago, who had bought  in a charity shop another 3 years ago! I bought my pants at Jane Norman sale for about €15 and spent another €15 on my shoes in Dunnes. Earrings : Fair Trade, Ring: Topshop. I grabbed this shopping bag in TKMax.

how to wear shades of cappucino colour

cappucino blouse with lace details

how to wear shades of cappucino

Subscribe to White Rabbit in a Reader!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2010 7:50 pm

    As I read down your post, I remembered that all my summer dresses are grey and beige (but different prints – there is some variety), and I have bright handbags and sandals. I have worked out that neutral colours best suit me. Then I got to your photos – you are also a pale blonde, and that blouse you are wearing is great! It matches several items in my wardrobe.
    I have learned (the hard way) that it is easiest to put together outfits if most of your clothes are in neutral colours.

  2. June 9, 2010 4:50 pm

    There’s nothing like a proper clear out to make you feel all organised and wonderfully light!

    I love your shoes, the colour is amazing and I like that style.

  3. June 10, 2010 1:08 am

    Closet purges can be so liberating eh? Sometimes I feel guilty and burdened by the things I rarely/never wear, but after a good cleaning I feel super happy and light. And hey, it’s a good excuse to shop for the items to fill in wardrobe gaps you noticed during the cleaning! 🙂

  4. June 10, 2010 2:53 am

    I wish I could be as brutal as you in cleaning my closet. Even when I’m really trying, I still end up with a closet that is just too full for it’s own good.

  5. White Rabbit permalink*
    June 10, 2010 7:43 am

    Girls, thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience with wardrobe clear outs!

    Lyddiegal, I know it is difficult to get rid of clothes, took me years to make this decision. And I actually like the way you rediscover and style long forgotten pieces from your closet, so maybe you shouldn’t do a clear out 🙂

  6. Lucy van Pelt permalink
    June 10, 2010 3:16 pm

    I hope you are recycling:)
    Or we could organise a swap party.

Leave a Reply

