Skip to content

Behind The Closed Curtains

June 6, 2010

In the morning, just after I wake up but before I regain my full conciousness, there are a few precious seconds when I breathe in the energy of things rising around me and invite the mood of the day ahead to rest a few minutes between my sheets. Then I open the curtains and welcome my new day.

How nice, isn’t it?

That is how I imagine my perfect morning. Maybe one day it will happen. But at the moment every morning is a struggle between me pretending  that I set up my alarm by mistake, and,  in fact it is the weekend, so I don’t have to wake up at all, hurray, happy times!!, and my alarm telling me to stop messing and pull myself together. Usually it is the alarm clock that wins the battle and I grudgingly drag my wary body to the bathroom.

How sad, isn’t it?

It used to be the first scenario for me, almost every day. Waking up full of energy, in anticipation of a new day ahead, with a smile on my face. So when did I lose it? And, even more important, when did I start to believe that the second scenario is the normal way to be?

So here starts my quest to rediscover my long lost ideal morning 🙂 

Are you with me Dear Readers?

A morning in Prague

I took this photograph one morning in the a Prague hotel room where my boyfriend and I celebrated our first year together. For more images see my In Prague – The City of Shapes and Shadows.

Subscribe to White Rabbit in a Reader!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2010 12:14 pm

    Ugh, I know what you mean… I feel like crying when I wake now most mornings! Though the sunny morns have helped this last while

  2. June 7, 2010 5:47 am

    i hope you find it.
    i manage to take appreciation in the 9 minutes between hitting the snooze button and actually having to wake up. sometimes i sleep more, sometimes i try to decided what i will wear… sometimes i check emails. i probably shouldn’t do that…

  3. June 8, 2010 2:07 pm

    Ah yes…I am so with you on rediscovering the lost morning, Alice. And I love this photograph! 🙂

  4. White Rabbit permalink*
    June 8, 2010 2:41 pm

    I didn’t mean for this post to be sad, I was actually in a quite inspired and happy mood when I wrote it 🙂 And my next morning was so much better 🙂

    I love this photo too Erica, so misterious…

Trackbacks

  1. Cappucino and Caramel « White Rabbit

Leave a Reply

