Skip to content

It’s Brown and it’s Draped

June 1, 2010

Quote of the Day:

Do what you please, follow your star: be original if you want to be and don’t if you don’t want to be. Just to be natural and gay and lighthearted and pretty and simple and overflowing and general and baroque, and learn, and learn, and learn. Open your minds to every form of beauty.

These are the words of Constance Spry, the renowned florist in the 30’s London. I came across an article about her after leafing through April 10 issue of Vogue. I love reading about truly inspiring people and something tells me Constance was one of them. I will definitely buy her biography, The Surprising Life of Constance Spry by Sue Shephard. She seems to be a woman with what I call a pinch of salt. Courageous enough to divorce her violent husband in the 20’s, original enough to use the most unexpected ingredients to create her unconventional flower arrangements, and open minded enough to teach us that the most expensive things are not always the most charming, the most stylish.

Wearing a draped chocolate-brown jersey top with matching brown jeans, both thrifted from a local charity shop, accessorized with €15 shoes from Dunnes and a charm necklace worn as a bracelet, and Fair Trade earrings. Feel very good about my fashion choices 😉

My Dear Readers, I would love to know, whose life you are most inspired with?

chocolate brown draped jersey top with a sequined neck detail

chocolate brown draped jersey top with a sequined neck detail

Subscribe to White Rabbit in a Reader!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 4:05 am

    I love your brown top – tis lovely.
    Its good not to be fooled by labels. Sometimes you think you like the ugliest thing just because it’s got a designer tag stuck on it.

    Who’s life inspires me….
    tough to say. i’ll have to think about it.

  2. June 2, 2010 8:29 am

    Nice to see you back 🙂 Hope you are doin well…

    Who inspires me most is my mother, I always look up to her especially when I’m in deep trouble. She’s gone thru a lot and it amazes me how she’s still standing up!

    Glad to see you posting again 🙂

    By, the way, hop on onto my blog if you fancy joining my
    GIVEAWAY wink wink!

  3. June 2, 2010 6:02 pm

    Welcome back, Alice – I’ve missed you! I am so in love with your shoes and your top; and I will definitely be checking out that biography, as well – it sounds amazing!! 🙂

  4. White Rabbit permalink*
    June 2, 2010 6:22 pm

    Thank you Girls for your lovely comments!

    Tuesday, having your mum as an inspiration in your life is the most amazing thing!

  5. Lucy van Pelt permalink
    June 6, 2010 4:36 pm

    Looking fierce!

Leave a Reply

