Skip to content

Ode to Jumpsuit

March 19, 2010

Everybody has a secret yearning for a particular item of clothing that one cannot have for various genuine or self-imposed reasons.

Sometimes your fashion dream is too expensive, other times you think you don’t have to right figure or attitude to pull it off, or you just haven’t  realised that your future object of desire exists.

I spent most of my years of fashion awareness in a complete oblivion when it came to jumpsuits. I mean, I knew they existed, but I never thought of them as something covetable, let alone sexy or chic. In fact, even the world jumpsuit reminded me of utilitarian menswear, children’s playgrounds, or equipment for astronauts.

But one day it all changed. Looking back, I should have seen it coming. Everything started with my new obsession with slouchy pants worn with slinky, draped blouses. It open up a door to a very different view on fashion, where the silhouette is unstructured and  nonchalant, yet feminine and chic. It all sounds so, well, so 80’s? And did I claim, only a few month ago, in this very blog, that I hate the 80’s? I don’t anymore. I still wouldn’t wear anything overly tacky, not yet, but  I certainly embraced certain aspects of the 80’s with all their glory.

So from here, only one step separated me from discovering  jumpsuits. Then falling in love with jumpsuits. Then putting the purchase of one on my to do list.  But since I haven’t yet got one to demonstrate all the different ways I would wear it, I reached ouT to another discovery of mine and created a few looks via Looklet.

How to wear a jumpsuit

How to wear a jumpsuit

How to wear a jumpsuit

Subscribe to White Rabbit in a Reader!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 4:12 pm

    I find thta I have been channeling the eighties in a lot of my looks over the past year. Leggings, leg warmers, off the shoulder tops. There seems to have been a sense of effortlessness during that era that I’m kind of obsessed with. Loving the jumpsuit you’ve featured here – I’ll be rocking the romper this spring/summer myself!! 🙂

  2. March 26, 2010 3:57 pm

    Is that a denim jumpsuit? I’ve just been writing about those.

  3. March 30, 2010 4:21 am

    I personally am a huge fan of jumpsuits, although I think they are something that isn’t exactly boy friendly fashion, I love them anyways! The only part that I dislike is wearing them and having to use a public restroom 😉

  4. May 16, 2010 9:45 am

    Wowww a lovely jumpsuit,it looks great on all three photos.
    Nice blog you’ve got here as well.Keep up the good work 😉

Leave a Reply

