Skip to content

The Man Behind The Lens

February 24, 2010

So you decided to have your own blog.

Let’s say, like me, you focus on personal style. Meaning that you express your narcissistic tendencies by playing paper doll and post pictures of yourself in your outfits every day.

And who is the one who humors the silly you and takes those pictures? In my case, it is my boyfriend.

You readers check your posts, they admire or criticize your clothes, hair, and makeup, and nobody really cares about the invisible man who is holding the camera. Or listens to you whining about that sudden drop in your stats. Or your artistic block.

This post is not going to be about him, I don’t think Mr. White Rabbit (I hope he will never know I called him that, but knowing my luck, today he will get a sudden pang of guilt for never reading my blog and give it a go) is yearning for that kind of recognition.

My article is about how our blogging affects people we share our lives with.

You know how time consuming and overwhelming task, or shall I say, set of tasks it is. You do the research, the writing, the marketing, the graphic design, and the list goes on. There are always new ideas to write about, things to tweak, and applications to add. There is no limit on how much time you spent on it. And if you are doing it on top of a full time job, it only adds oil to the fire.

When I started blogging, everything was so exciting! I learnt something new every day, I was working on the layout of my blog, on the content, attending events, and researching my topics. However, after a few months I realized that it takes up all my free time which I usually spend on being with my boyfriend and friends, reading, walking, making clothes.

I had to take drastic measures and create a set of rules. Sometimes I break them (what else the rules are for), but most of the time I follow them.

pixie

1. Decide when and how much time you spend on the internet and stick to it.

This way your loved ones know what to expect. This will also help you to avoid situations when one minute you just want to have quick peak at your stats, and next thing you realize that you’ve just spent over an hour browsing the internet, while your boyfriend is impatiently hovering in the background, waiting for you to finish and spend some quality time together. Sounds familiar?! I am sure it does!

2. Accept the fact that you just finish everything.

When your time is up, be strong and shut down your computer. Tomorrow you will have another day. Answering a few more e-mails is not worth missing some precious moments with your friends and family.

2. Have a schedule.

This will help you to stay organized and not worry about what to do next. It will also help you to define your tasks and incorporate them into your schedule.

3. Think in advance about what you will write about and try to focus on delivering those posts, instead of meandering on the internet, constantly looking for new information. Put aside some time for content research, and do it then.

4. Save the information.

If, while researching your topic, you come across irrelevant information that catches your fancy, just keep the link in you ”inspiration” file, this way you can refer to it at another time, which will save you time to search for new subjects.

5. Respect privacy.

Sometimes having a blog means you let your personal life sneak out to a wider audience than you would normally have. Talk to your family and friends and ask them how they feel about it.

6. Have blog free days.

For example, if you can afford it, the weekends. Switch off the computer and no peeking.

7. Don’t check you e-mails, comments, stats every 5 minutes. It is very annoying.

8. Don’t expect your friends commenting on you blog in the name of solidarity.

Some of them have different tastes than you, and you can’t expect them to read your blog just because they like you.

Subscribe to White Rabbit in a Reader!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 9:32 pm

    Thank you for those rules. I think I need to start following a few of them as well.

  2. February 24, 2010 9:43 pm

    This is basically one of the best things that I have ever read, Alice. During the holidays, I devoted SO much time to Cafe Fashionista, that I completely ignored my family – even on Christmas! I wish I could get those moments back now. I’m finally realizing that I need to be less stringent with myself in terms of how many posts I write in advance, and such. Inspiration obviously won’t come through if I don’t take days off and just enjoy life. Love this post!! 🙂

  3. February 24, 2010 11:05 pm

    blog free days? so so tough! unless Im on holidays. good advice thou 😉

  4. February 25, 2010 3:34 am

    haha great tips! i am really struggling to have some blog free days and be good and shut down the computer to get some good rest! You’re lucky your boyfriend does such a great job taking your pictures! i’m usually forced to take my own 🙂

  5. February 25, 2010 4:04 am

    Good tips but yeh easier said than done, it is too easy to get sucked into the world of internet 😉

  6. White Rabbit permalink*
    February 25, 2010 11:33 am

    I completely agree, it is not easy to keep these rules, but if I don’t try to follow them, I find that blogging takes over all my life.

    I guess it is up to everybody to set their own rules!

  7. February 25, 2010 10:29 pm

    Guilty as charged! I am really, for some reason blogging is truly addictive but there should be limitation and balance between virtual life and the real thing. And thru the years of posting I learned how to “filter” my own posts and delete the things I wrote that I think too personal. I do much enjoy now posting happy stuff, photography and fashion 🙂

  8. February 26, 2010 1:27 am

    Those rules are great and so true!

    I’v tagged you in the Happy 101 blogger award.

    http://thefashionplanner.blogspot.com/2010/02/awards.html

  9. White Rabbit permalink*
    February 26, 2010 10:06 am

    My blog free days rule start this evening! I locked away my laptop until Monday! So this weekend is going to be about enjoying the small pleasure of life and some creativity! I have a lot of catching up to at my fashion course!

    Midnight Cowgirl, thank you so much for taging me!! 🙂 You made my day :))

  10. February 27, 2010 11:07 pm

    Hi,

    I am lucky that my best (male) friend takes the photos – and teases my constantly about it. My friends do not read my blog either, they are generally not interested in fashion. Maybe this is what I enjoy most about blogging – not feeling awkward talking about clothes/accessory so much. I already limited the time (or tried to), and now I have time for more extra tasks. Research is a very dangerous time robber though ;)).
    Love,

    Lilly

  11. March 2, 2010 9:11 am

    great advice. I must admit I was trying to set up some rules fro myself, but they never seem to work. there’s always some interesting article or post that you MUST read and then you promiss you will walk away from the computer. on the subject of who’s taking the photos, I have been taking advantage of my sister’s kindness for too long now (I gave my boyfriend a breake, he’s busy enough as it is). I feel like I need to give her a break now. instead of involving all these people in this time consuming activity, I need to figure out how to do it by myself and in a more organized manner. you gave me a lot to think about.

    xoxo,
    miha

  12. March 6, 2010 1:13 am

    easier said than done but nonetheless great advice

Trackbacks

  1. Business Casual Chic « White Rabbit

Leave a Reply

