Skip to content

Thrifted Chic

February 3, 2010
 
 
I am very fond of sunsets. Come, let us go look at a sunset…
-Antoine de Saint Exupéry
 
 

 

It was my boyfriend’s birthday recently, so we went out for dinner to celebrate. It was the same restaurant we had our fist date in, and I always get a bit emotional there. Especially after a few glasses of wine.

I have to admit though, romantic feelings are not the only reason we always go to Bijou Bistro. The place is just perfect! It is sophisticated,  but in a relaxed, and not intimidating way. It is never oppressively empty, or so packed that you lose the feeling of intimacy. And the food as well as the service are excellent! I told you, it is perfect!

And it was probably in the anticipation of the evening that I decided to wear this outfit. I have never worn a skirt of calf length before. I bought it in a charity shop and was meaning to shorten it for months. I am not sure what got into me but I decided to put it on, then added a few bits and pieces, and off I went. I felt great all day, in a kind of old-fashioned and very feminine way.

What about you?  What kind of restaurants do you like? Or do you prefer home made dinner/cuddling on the sofa with some take away?

 
 
 

I didn't have a matching bag, so I grabbed this old makeup bag as a clutch

I didn't have a matching bag, so I grabbed this old makeup bag as a clutch

 

This necklace matches my turquoise velvet blazer perfectly, that is, if you like colour coordination

This necklace matches my turquoise velvet blazer perfectly, that is, if you like colour coordination

Violet and turquoise colour combination

Violet and turquoise colour combination

I customised this Penney's cloche with handmade ribbon and a button

I customised this Penney's cloche with handmade ribbon and a button

Skirt - thrifted, Blazer - thrifted, Top - 10 years old purchase, Tights - M&S, Necklace - Hickey's, Clutch - Body Shop makup bag, shoes - M&S, Cloche - customised Penney's

Skirt - thrifted, Blazer - thrifted, Top - 10 years old purchase, Tights - M&S, Necklace - Hickey's, Clutch - Body Shop makup bag, shoes - M&S, Cloche - customised Penney's

Subsribe to White Rabbit in a Reader!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 9:25 pm

    You look incredibly cute and I love the colors in your outfit!

  2. February 3, 2010 11:15 pm

    I wore a similar look once (switch the dress and bazer) here: http://stylesymmetry.com/2008/07/09/cropped-purple-blazer/

  3. February 4, 2010 2:03 am

    I love your outfit! The teal blazer and the purple patterned tights — Love!
    I like going out, just to have a [legitimate] reason to get dressed up.

  4. Julia Luckett permalink
    February 4, 2010 3:37 am

    ooh lovely skirt. great pattern and color, it is very difficult to find! I have been following you via bloglovin, and I would be honored if you followed me!

    Julia
    http://julialuckett.wordpress.com/

  5. February 4, 2010 4:34 am

    Very pretty super lady-like feel! love the purple on purple!

  6. White Rabbit permalink*
    February 4, 2010 11:08 am

    Thank you Leia, I’ve always been fond of this colour combination!

    Your outfit is gorgeous Eyeliah but I already mentioned it on your blog 🙂

    I know Lyddiegal, I love wearing something different for a dinner out:)

    Thanks for following me Julia, I follow you now too 🙂

    Erin, thank you!

  7. February 4, 2010 2:22 pm

    Amazing color combo….and great improvisation with the makeup bag.

  8. February 4, 2010 2:46 pm

    Great outfit, love the colours!

Leave a Reply

