Skip to content

Back to Dublin I

February 2, 2010

I moved to the country a year ago, and I wouldn’t move back to the city for life or money, but sometimes I get the nostalgic about the city life – I miss the lights, the noise, the people. 

 Last weekend I stayed with my friend Dorota, who lives in the apartment I rented before moving to Kildare. It is a small top floor apartment in a Georgian bulding, for which I paid almost the same price as I do now for a 3 bedroom farmhause surrounded by beautiful scenery, but there was something very artistic and romantic about its asymmetrical walls, the uneven ceiling, and of course, the close proximity of cafes, shops, and restaurants in the area.  

So when I stayed in Dublin last weekend, I took the opportunity to do a little photoshoot with  Dorota.  I always admired her style and I was inspired by the little apartment, so it was the pefect combination.  This is the first part of the photoshoot, so stay tuned!

Dress: Morgan, Faux fur vest: Thrifted, Boots: River Island

fashion photoshoot

fashion photoshoot

fashion photography

Fashion photography

Subsribe to White Rabbit in a Reader!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 10:05 pm

    I often hear about people torn between the city and the country. Personally, I think it’s probably best to have a place in both!

    Lovely pictures too. You know I’m just going to have to love the River Island boots 😀

    – Anna Jane xxx

  2. February 3, 2010 12:38 am

    I’m with Anna Jane– I think I’d need both, to function in both extremes. I’m really charmed by the orange walls and the darker orange furniture (?) in the image– it’s wonderful!

  3. February 3, 2010 2:24 am

    I am a city girl through and through, I live 15 minutes out of Seattle right now, but I usually stay with friends right downtown. I love it, just being able to walk right out to the hustle and bustle. I do visit what we could call the country here once in awhile, mostly to see family. I do fall in love with it, but then am itching to get back!

    Also I have that fur vest, except mine has a hood. I live in it, it goes with everything. Also lvoe the boots!

  4. February 3, 2010 10:41 am

    I think I’m a city girl who likes country holidays! I could NEVER live in the country I think I would go crazy, I need to be able to walk to the shops!

    I love those pictures, the outfit is lovely, I like the fur gilet with the floral dress and boots.

  5. Dorota permalink
    February 3, 2010 11:51 am

    Thank you Alice for the photoshoot. I really enjoyed it!

  6. White Rabbit permalink*
    February 3, 2010 12:47 pm

    Thank you girls for your comments! It was great to hear your opinion about city-country balance. I always lived in big cities and moving to the country was a big deal for me, but I was surprised at how easy it was! I still work and study in the city, so not all is lost!

    And you won’t believe how much money I save because there are no shops!!

  7. February 3, 2010 2:34 pm

    Those boots, woo, so nice!
    Anyway, I have lived in London for the last 5 years, loved it at first, and while I still like the fact you have always got something to do here, I’m just craving the countryside at the moment. It would be great to just go for a walk in a country field or something, I want trees and daisys and duck ponds. ” )
    Found your blog from What Katie Wore. Take it easy Xx

  8. February 3, 2010 5:07 pm

    love the shoes!

  9. White Rabbit permalink*
    February 3, 2010 5:57 pm

    I know Stacy Lou, that is the way I feel about the country. What Katie wears is a great blog, isn’t it? I only discovered it recently, should add it to my personal style blogs collection!

    Thank you Emily! Dorota bought them ages ago but was worried that she will appear too tall! I was tempted to agree with her and knick them even though they were a size too big for me…but I told her the truth – that she looks gorgeous in them!

  10. February 4, 2010 3:46 pm

    Being too tall in shoes– wish I had that problem! Love the close up shots.

Trackbacks

  1. Back in Dublin II « White Rabbit

Leave a Reply

