Skip to content

Yellow Tights

January 31, 2010

Quote of the day:  

There is a level of cowardice lower than that of the conformist: the fashionable nonconformist.  

– Ayn Rand  

This quote is a social commentary and its meaning lies deeper than clothing but right now I just want to chat about fashion.  

There are the fashion forward who dress straight off the catwalks – they are probably already wearing the S/S 10  nudes, Bretons, and knickers and bras over their clothes. But the majority of us wait until the trends settle down and become acceptable so we can comfortably blend in.  

Then there are the followers of the anti-trend ”trends”.  It is like having a huge shopping budget and boasting about buying an adorable second-hand dress for only €5. Needless to say, they would flinch even at the thought of enetering a charity shop before it became fashionable.  

And then there are people who have a genuinely unique style that is part of their personality. I envy them.  

Now, this was a big generalization and there are so many people with different attitude to fashion that it is impossible to categorize everybody. I have been through many phases myself, and I believe that  I carry some of fashionably non-conformist traits as well.

I want to be unique but I get seduced by trends and other people’s styles. I want to have a particular look that I believe is very me, and then I see something that is even more me, or I simply get bored with my old style.  

I think I will always be this way.  And I don’t mind where it takes me as long as stay true to a few things

– Don’t spend too much money on clothes 

– Don’t try too hard to be original 

– Don’t wear clothes I feel self-conscious about 

Fashion is about having fun and being creative. 

 This is my style.  

Big yellow plastic ring from Topshop  

Yellow opaque tights from Topshop  

Yellow accessories  

yellow and black outfit  

Bright yellow opaque tights - Topshop, Pale yellow scarf - Dunnes,  Vintage suede boyfriend jacket - thrifted, Corduroy mini skirt - purchased 7 years ago in Hungary, Boots - Hunter, Plastic ring -

Bright yellow opaque tights - Topshop, Pale yellow scarf - Dunnes, Brown jumper - thrifted, Vintage suede boyfriend jacket - thrifted, Brown corduroy mini skirt - purchased 7 years ago in Hungary, Boots - Hunter, Plastic ring - Topshop

Subsribe to White Rabbit in a Reader!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2010 3:20 am

    All I have to say is that you, my dear, are a superstar! I absolutely adore this look on you – yellow tights are such a fun and fabulous inclusion to one’s wardrobe. You look divine!! 🙂

  2. White Rabbit permalink*
    January 31, 2010 3:33 pm

    Thank you Erika! It took me a while to start wearing them…:)

  3. February 1, 2010 4:56 pm

    I love the yellow tights! They look great on you.

    Yellow makes me look I just died. A few (many?) years ago I remember reading it was the “in” colour and buying a top that I never wore. That was probably my last big fashion mistake, before I realised I didn’t care that much about what was fashionable if I was going to look like a reanimated corpse in it!

  4. February 2, 2010 8:13 pm

    i adore all of the yellow in this outfit! *perfection*

Leave a Reply

