Skip to content

Victorian Style

January 28, 2010

Quote of the day:

They are not, the days of wine and roses: Out of a misty dream, Our path emerges for a while, then closes, Within a dream

-Ernest Dowson

I never get bored with Irish landscape, how could I, when it has so many faces in the ever-changing light?  Yet it is always the mist  that takes my breath away. It transforms the place I live into a dreamy fairyland. Mist always had this effect on me. I remember when I went to Russia, I was mesmerised by Saint-Petersburg the same way, the thick fog made everything look so surreal, the city looked suspended in the air and so did the passing of time.

My outfit was a complete coincidence, I didn’t dress to match the misty ”Wuthering Heights” mood but I was glad that I wasn’t wearing bright colours this morning. When I saw this Victorian style jacket 3 yeas ago, I instantly fell in love with it. The romantic and sophisticated angle, the little  details, like the shape of the collar, the double darts, the rushed sleeves, even the small things that are not visible on the pictures – the dark green lining and the flared smoking style ”tail” at the back, everything appealed to me. And it was in the most fashionable colour in the world – grey.

I am wearing it with my ancient thrifted trousers, vintage semi precious clip eaarring my grandmother gave me, and scarf tied as a bow for the Victorian look.

Victorian style jacket - aWear, Scarf - Penney's, Vintage earrings - gift from my grandmother, Top - purchased 7 years ago in Hungary

Victorian style jacket - aWear, Scarf - Penney's, Vintage earrings - gift from my grandmother, Top - purchased 7 years ago in Hungary

 

Victorian style jacket - aWear, Scarf - Penney's, Vintag eearrings - gift from my grandmother, Top - purchased 7 years ago in Hungary

Victorian Style outfit 

Victorian Style Outfit
8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 12:12 am

    What a romantic setting and a romantic outfit! They complement each other beautifully…

  2. January 29, 2010 3:42 pm

    i was in the middle of typing a comment and realized that ashe said exactly what i was thinking!

    i love how well your outfit & the scenery compliment each other. makes for beautiful photos!

  3. Dorota permalink
    January 29, 2010 3:47 pm

    Lovely scenery… Your outfit is great but I like the vintage earrings most!

  4. White Rabbit permalink*
    January 29, 2010 3:55 pm

    Thank you girls! yes, I was very lucky with the scenery, except I had to postpone my driving lesson because of the fog 🙂 Nothing comes without a price..

  5. January 30, 2010 6:17 pm

    Wow if I had Irish landscape I would never tire of it either! it looks enchanting and compliments your victorian outfit perfectly!

  6. White Rabbit permalink*
    January 31, 2010 3:34 pm

    Thank you Erin!

  7. February 1, 2010 1:03 pm

    Oh wow, the mist is incredible! What fab photos! Well done you! x

Trackbacks

  1. Bad Hair Day « White Rabbit

Leave a Reply

