Skip to content

Wearing a Trench and a Beret

January 20, 2010

Quote of the Day:

Sometimes I wake up and I think I should start wearing a beret, but I don’t do it. One day I’m gonna, though. You bet your ass, I will have a beret on. That’s ridiculous, but it’s true. I always fight with wearing a beret.

– Mitch Hedberg

I am sure Mitch, the comedian, meant to be hilarious but I am going to talk serious business. I used to have a love-hate relationship with berets. I looked at other women wondering about their secret and what on earth was wrong mith me. Is it the shape of my face? Is my head too small? My nose too big? And why did I have to cut my hair short, now there is no chance I will ever wear a beret! Everybody knows that a beret only looks great covering masses of long, sleek hair!

Wait a sec, did you see that girl, the one with short hear, working a beret with dangly earrings as if it was the most natural thing in the world? She actually looks great!

So it is not my short hair. It must be the funny shape of my head, then.

That is what I was thinking until a fellow fashionista showed me how to wear a beret. Pushed slightly towards the back of the head to show off the fringe and tilted to one side. That simple! Since then the beret and me are inseparable.

Today I am wearing my black beret with a 50’s style red trench coat. The light is terrible and I look a bit like the living dead. I need more sunshine! And new foundation. And a haircut.

Trench Coat  - Savida, Beret - Penney's, Tights - Penney's, Shoes - M&S, Jumper - Savida

Trench Coat - Savida, Beret - Penney's, Tights - Penney's, Shoes - M&S, Jumper - Savida

 

More beret posts:

A Timeless Outfit

Modern Red Riding Hood

Winter Knits and Earthy Neutrals

Subscribe to White Rabbit!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2010 10:50 pm

    oh so chic!

  2. January 20, 2010 11:30 pm

    Hilar – today I am wearing my black knit beret and beige trench. 🙂 Those tights are a dream.

  3. Dorota permalink
    January 21, 2010 10:27 am

    My red beret is always in my bag.

  4. White Rabbit permalink*
    January 21, 2010 12:16 pm

    Thank you girls! Black beret with beige trench must look fab!

    I know you beret Dorota 🙂

  5. January 21, 2010 1:25 pm

    I’ve been trying to wear berets for years and I can’t get it right. A complete stranger once grabbed me trying one on in Primark to show me how to do it right. How embarrassing!

    Those tights are brilliant. I want!

  6. kitsune permalink
    March 1, 2010 10:52 pm

    i just wore my black knitted beret with my black peacoat. i felt adorable lol.

Leave a Reply

