Skip to content

The Enchanted World of Sorcha Gillet

January 19, 2010

I found Sorcha Gillet’s blog, Dandelion Daydreamer, utterly enchanting from the very first moment. Full of dreamy images, it was truly refreshing and inspiring. Sometimes, when I am tired of reading about the latest trends, and who did what in fashion world, I visit her blog and it transfers me into the world of magic…

Sorcha is an Irish born textile designer, currently living and working in France. She started as a free lance handbag designer but at the moment her primary focus is textile paintings and prints. Sorcha has been collecting patches of fabric, leather, beads, and gems since she was a little girl, and now she is skilfully mixes her treasures with ink and acrylic to create beautiful one-off art pieces.

Available on Etsy as both painting and print, depending on your pocket

Available on Etsy as both painting and print, depending on your pocket

Sorcha is also an active member of Etsy site. Not only she sells her own prints, she is also actively involved in Etsy community, often introduces her fellow artists and does regular giveaways on Dandelion Daydreamer. I was curious to get to know Sorcha a bit better, so I asked her a few questions.

Available on Etsy as a print

Available on Etsy as a print

1. You are interested in both art and fashion. How do they affect each other in your world?

I work full time in fashion as a printed textile for Rip Curl in France and creating art is my passion that I look forward to in the evenings and weekends. Because I love so many artists and illustrators my design is influenced by my taste in art, and vice versa when I am painting. I feel the two work harmoniously parallel to each other, which is a relief as I couldn’t choose one if I tried!

2. Your prints are fairy tale like yet very contemporary? What is your inspiration?

Everyday girls on the street, special memories as I’ve grown up, beautiful fashion shoots (mainly any by Tim Walker!), favourite artists like Rob Ryan and Casey O Connell, vintage prints and antique materials in French markets, wildflowers and summer days spent on the beach, mini get-aways exploring a new city and all my lovely friends.

3. Do you follow trends?

Working in a design studio, I am surrounded by trend boards. Unfortunately we work a year a head of whats currently in store so I often feel bored of trends before they hit the shops! I usually like to mix favourite vintage pieces with high-street and designer. I am mostly influenced by street fashion and the innovative ways other girls assemble their outfits. I love fashion blogs for checking out other girls looks!

4. What do you think about Ireland’s general attitude towards ethical fashion – I mean handmade and vintage?

I think Ireland has embraced the possibility of vintage whole-heartedly in the last few years. I think a lot of this is down to London ladies like Kate Moss who continually refreshes vintage chic in the public eye. It’s exciting to see innovative new markets and flea markets popping up around Ireland. We have so many talented crafters and designers and it is encouraging to finally see new platforms for them to showcase their talents on.

5. What do you think about blogging in Ireland?

I am quite new to the world of blogging and was initially taken by surprise at the number of Irish bloggers I have come across. It’s so nice to be living in France and to be kept up to date on Irish fashion and interior trends by dedicated Irish bloggers. Keep up the great work!

Available on Etsy as a print

Available on Etsy as a print

Visit Sorcha’s Etsy shop and let me know which painting you like the most! Thanks for reading this post!

Subsribe to White Rabbit in a Reader!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 5:19 pm

    Amazing talent. I find her designs to be extraordinary!

  2. Luke permalink
    January 20, 2010 2:17 am

    me too! simply amazing, all her girls are soooo beautiful 🙂

  3. January 29, 2010 4:34 am

    Great interview! I truly adore the whimsy of each print. The playfulness of Unrequited Love (http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=29543810) is absolutely adorable; yet I think that Clementine (http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=32956284) and Goodbye (http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=22277842) are my absolute favorites. There’s so much detail to them!! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Links à la Mode : The IFB Weekly Roundup | Independent Fashion Bloggers
  2. Links à la Mode : The Heavyweights | THE COVETED
  3. White Rabbit in Links à la Mode « White Rabbit

Leave a Reply

