Skip to content

A Timeless Outfit

January 18, 2010

Quote of the day:

We act as though comfort and luxury were the chief requirements of life, when all that we need to make us really happy is something to be enthusiastic about.

Charles Kingsley

I completely agree with this quote! You know, sometimes we try to feel the empty space by retail therapy but that is like a vicious circle, the more we shop, the greater the emptiness ( and I am talking about our purse as well)! There are so many things to be enthusiastic about. Even if it is fashion there are many ways to express enthusiasm apart from shopping! My latest obsessions are putting together new outfits from clothes I bought ages ago (I haven’t done proper shopping for the past year!), photography (I got a Nikon D5000 from my boyfriend for Christmas and I can’t part with it since), and creative writing (I am reading Keys to Great Writing by Stephen Wilbers).

Talking about clothes, I have always been mad about ponchos and berets, I find them incredibly charming in that slightly old fashioned way.  I have a collection of ponchos and this draped black one is one of my favourites. Coupled with a pair of loose pants and some heels it is a perfect timeless outfit!

Do you like ponchos and/or berets? Do you have any tips how to you wear them?

Pants - Next (thrifted), Poncho - Dunnes, Shoes - M&S, Beret - Claire's Accessories, Brooch - Hickey's

Pants - Next (thrifted), Poncho - Dunnes, Shoes - M&S, Beret - Claire's Accessories, Brooch - Hickey's

Grey, black and red have always been my favourite colour combo...

Grey, black and red have always been my favourite colour combo...

 

Jumper - Savida

Jumper - Savida

Subsribe to White Rabbit in a Reader!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2010 9:33 pm

    Nice photos =)

  2. January 18, 2010 9:59 pm

    Great quote.

    And that hat is great on you. You’re adorable.

    http://www.daniellebarbe.blogspot.com

  3. Dorota permalink
    January 19, 2010 12:17 pm

    There is something special about ponchos. I would not wear them myself but can understand why people are in love with them! You are definitely a poncho person:)

  4. January 19, 2010 1:07 pm

    Wow, no shopping for a year, that’s amazing! I so wish I could do the same, but temptation is so great sometimes. I love the outfit, and I agree, it’s totally timeless. The floral brooch gives it a nice modern twist however 🙂 As for berets, I’m in love with them. They tend to look a bit silly on my tiny pea-sized head, but I love them on everyone else!

    – Anna Jane xxx

  5. January 19, 2010 2:00 pm

    I love your Beret, I have one in black it was given to me by mum who bought it in the 60’s!

  6. White Rabbit permalink*
    January 19, 2010 2:36 pm

    Thank you all for your comments. I know ponchos and beret and not everybody’s style, so I really appreciate it..

    Anna Jane, did do some shopping but none of the proper shopping sprees I used to. Just an occasional accessory from my fellow designers and a bit of charity shopping.

    It is fun to live off my existing wardrobe.

Trackbacks

  1. Wearing a Trench and a Beret « White Rabbit

Leave a Reply

