Skip to content

How To Wear A Puffer Coat

January 11, 2010

So comfortable yet so not stylish….puffer coats have been the black sheep of fashion for as long as I remember them but I have to confess they are my biggest fashion weakness.

I know, a puffer jacket will never compete with a beautifully cut wool coat but I can’t resist the lightness, the warmth, the effortless comfort and I haven’t even mentioned the protection against rain which is a must in Ireland!

Wearing a puffer jacket is like indulging in some comfort food on a cold winter night instead of eating gourmet food in a fancy restaurant. Everybody loves some luxurious pampering but the first option is so much easier and still satisfying. So every winter I lose the battle against my vanity and buy another puffer coat.

It seems to the only way for me is to give in and just figure out how to wear a puffer coat and stay stylish.

1. Wear it with figure hugging clothes underneath – a fitted jumper and skinny jeans are perfect!

2.  Enhance the silhouette by wearing it with knee-high boots – just make sure they are either flat or have chunky heels or platforms!

3. Try to be minimalistic with the colours, instead add one or two chique items such as a stylish handbag, a scarf, or long earrings.

Philip Russel Puffer Coat I spent €20 on in Hungary, worn with leggings (€20 Topshop), Philip Russel jumper (€3 in Hungary), Penney's twisted scarf and Pilar Abril Bag (€50)

Philip Russel Puffer Coat I spent €20 on in Hungary, worn with leggings (€20 Topshop), Philip Russel jumper (€3 in Hungary), Penney's twisted scarf and Pilar Abril Bag (€50)

Puffer jacket worn with a long bright scarf I got at a swap party and Fairtrade earrings €3

Puffer jacket worn with a long bright scarf I got at a swap party and Fairtrade earrings €3

 

 

Subscribe to White Rabbit in a reader!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2010 11:46 am

    I am impressed! You do manage to make a puffer coat look very stylish and individual!

    I guess as with anything it’s all in the accessories!

  2. White Rabbit permalink*
    January 13, 2010 1:05 pm

    Without my accessories my wardrobe would be the most boring in the world!

  3. January 14, 2010 5:34 pm

    I am seeing these coats everywhere in Vancouver! I don’t think it would work so well on me, unless it was as perfectly slim as yours.

Leave a Reply

