Skip to content

Fake Nails – Art or Artificial?

December 15, 2009

Artificial nails have been in for quite a while now. And even though I am against anything fake, the idea of having immaculately manicured hands without broken nails is tempting…So I did my research and I found some pros and cons…

Apparently it is all about technique and the right product. Starting out, artificial nails were clumsy and thick but now you can have them beautifully built and it is hard to tell the difference between real and fake.

You see, I would love to have long, sophisticated nails but it just doesn’t work for me! My nails are weak and there is no way I can maintain  polished nails for longer than 2 weeks without breakage.

So having artificial nails seems like a solution worth considering. 

After looking around in Ireland I realised that having them done every 3 weeks is a bit expensive. But hey, more and more people are doing their nails themselves, so perhaps I should just learn the technique… 

Good news – Crystal Nails Ireland is holding a workshop in Dublin Paramount Hotel on the 17th of January (Sunday) at 9am.

Nail Art

Nail Art

The workshop is free and all you have to do is to purchase the materials to do your nails.  More information on the workshop and products here.

 If you are still unsure, there are some pros and cons of acrylic and gel nails.

Pros of Acrylic:

-create a polished surface so your nail varnish won’t chip 

-stronger than real nails, so they won’t break 

-affordable, especially when applied at home 

Cons of Acrylic

-require regular maintenance 

-should be applied with care, otherwise will look fake 

– can damage your nails if removed carelessly

Pros of Gel:

-look more natural and glossy

-the process is faster

-the product is odorless

Cons of Gel:

-less durable than acrylic

-harder to do them yourself

-harder to apply nail varnish

Oh, and the idea of artificial nails doesn’t end here. Some artist took it to the next level…hmmm…maybe for a fashion show…. 

Nail Art Excvlusive

Nail Art Exclusive

What do you think about artificial nails?

Subsribe to White Rabbit in a reader now and receive new posts!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 6:37 pm

    I’m afraid the false nails in these pics scare the be-jaysus out of me! I’m not sure that they are for fashion shows, I had one over those ever-lasting manicures. (They actually last about 4 weeks!) The technician who applied the gel polish layers had these nails and I spent the whole event creeped out that she was going to sink her talons into my eye balls… The shorter the better as fas as I’m concerned! 🙂

  2. White Rabbit permalink*
    December 15, 2009 7:08 pm

    Yes, I wouldn’t go for the long nails either, although I love the images…I am surprised people are using them for every day but then again everybody has a different tase.

    I am actually after some shorter ones, something quirky but not too crazy!

  3. December 15, 2009 8:29 pm

    Try the nail bar on Trinity Street, that’s where I went and they do all sorts there. Here’s a link to a review I posted:
    http://whisty.wordpress.com/2009/03/30/gel-overlay-uv-nails/
    (Please don’t feel obliged to leave that up Alice!) x

  4. White Rabbit permalink*
    December 15, 2009 9:48 pm

    No worries Whisty, thanks for the info! 🙂

  5. istvan permalink
    December 16, 2009 7:11 pm

    You are absolutely right that the best products and techniques have to be used when you ask for artificial nails to avoid breakage or burning. One of the best nail technician I know in Dublin is Renata Erdei, and the funny thing that she works in this Nail Bar on Trinity Street. She works at home as well and you pay half price compare to the Salon’s prices and will be happy with your nails for sure. In case anyone needs her number you find it here: http://www.gumtree.ie/dublin/39/51078839.html
    Great article, Alice! Well done!

    • White Rabbit permalink*
      December 17, 2009 10:02 am

      Thanks for the info Istvan!

  6. December 31, 2009 2:32 pm

    I have had a ghetto nail addiction for the last 2 years. I left them off a couple of months but I’m going to get them back as they’re an extension of my creativity and I love the patterns. I get acrylic and they’re amazing – I’ve had gel but I really can’t tell very much difference. As you said it’s all about the nail technician. It only costs me £20 to get them put on and then £14 every 3 weeks for an in-fill. I can’t believe how much of a rip-off it is in Dublin!

    • White Rabbit permalink*
      January 4, 2010 2:52 pm

      Dublin is very expensive indeed, that is one of the reasons I am so keen on learning to do things myself!

Trackbacks

  1. Links à la Mode : The Countdown Begins | THE COVETED
  2. Independent Fashion Bloggers Links a la Mode « Tick Tick Heart
  3. Linktastic: Links Á La Mode « Styletastic
  4. Links à la Mode | Fashion planet blog
  5. Links à la Mode | The Countdown Begins « A Typical Atypical
  6. Links à la Mode | 39thandbroadway.com
  7. Links à la Mode for the week of December 17th « White Rabbit

Leave a Reply

