Skip to content

Jewellery vs. Accessories

November 17, 2009

We have been adorning ourselves with jewellery since the Stone Age.  With time, the desire of decorating our bodies became a symbol of connection and continuity.  Giving jewellery to our beloved turned into a gesture of appreciation and grew into family heritage.  At a certain age part of the “rite de passage” was to become a proud owner of family jewellery, thus preserving and carrying the family history.

Today, we have arrived to Plastic Age of jewellery and precious jewellery has been replaced by chunky necklaces and oversized plastic rings from the chain stores.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not against the affordable accessories at all, on the contrary! I mix and match them with my outfits all the time, so the bigger the choice and the less the price is the better!

However, I miss the “real jewellery”, not the modern  Boodles kind but the one which in a distant past made somebody very happy and still carries those precious moments.

So I decided to share the contents of my little treasure box which was full of stories, long forgotten feelings and desires from the past and, unlike the Pandora’s box, was a pleasure to open and hold its lovely contents.

 Here is a few of them…

My Precious Pieces

My Precious Pieces

 Subscribe to White Rabbit now and receive new posts ina reader!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2009 3:38 pm

    I totally know what you mean – I miss those delicate pieces with real meaning and value. Like most people I’m hugely drawn into the chunkier, cheaper pieces (what’s not to love about them after all…) but I do wish it was trendy to wear a bit of expensive, dainty jewellary too. LOVING the ring in that picture!

    -Anna Jane xxx
    (Pixelatedblonde.com)

  2. November 18, 2009 8:43 pm

    I’m so with you.

    I have this permanent little day dream of being bought beautiful elegant jewellery as a gift and having someone else put it on me. I’m normally sipping champagne and generally being all elegant and the total opposite of normal me!

  3. White Rabbit permalink*
    November 19, 2009 10:29 am

    Anna Jane, I think we all all have that hidden desire for jewellery buried under our extensive chunky collections 🙂

    Retro Chick, I share your dream with you! I really do 🙂

  4. fiercebeautyandfashion permalink
    November 19, 2009 4:02 pm

    I definitely understand where you’re coming from! When I was a little girl, my parents and grandparents used to give me really good gold jewelry that is classic and never goes out of style. That’s what I love about real fine jewelry.

    I guess maybe nowadays, things aren’t as formal as they used to be and therefore that fine jewelry has lost its place in the scheme of things. I know since leaving NYC and coming to FL, there isn’t a fancy enough place for me to wear my fine jewelry

    Don’t worry girls, I miss it too!

  5. July 10, 2010 12:06 pm

    I remember those, when my mother use to keep “real jewellery” which are very expensive. But, the “new generation” has flooded the whole market. I perfectly understand what you mean by “plastic age of jewellery” . When the world economy is stable, the “real jewellery” will be back to it’s potentials.

Leave a Reply

