Skip to content

Hot Winter Trend – Russian Style Fur Hats

November 10, 2009

You know how people who were teenagers in the 80’s  resist today’s major 80’s wave? I had similar feelings when fur hats or ”ushankas” became a huge trend.

”What is the deal?”, I mean my father and my mother both had one, and I always thought ushankas and fur hats were the most unfashionable things ever, the only reason to wear them is the extreme cold. I mean EXTREME cold, I am talking deep down below zero.

Russian style fur hat with pompoms

Russian style fur hat with pompoms

If you would like to find out why and where I got my hat and look at more furry picures then read on and let me know if you would wear one! I am curious…

By the way, ushanka is from the Russian word ”ushy”, which means ears, so they are the hats with ”wings”, while the one I am wearing is just a fur hat. Sorry, didn’t mean to be a smart ass.

Anyway, back to the point. Yesterday I was passing by Claire’s when I spotted this furry number and decided to give it a try. Just for a laugh. And I liked it. It was so cosy and comfortable and cute. Things change , huh? So I bought it for about 20 euros. Now it is my parents’ turn to freak out!

There is no snow to match my fur hat but it looks good paired and autumn background

There is no snow to match my fur hat but it looks good paired and autumn background

You are supposed to wear it with a warm coat so they accessories don't matter but hey..

You are supposed to wear it with a warm coat so they accessories don't matter but hey..

Fur hat 20 euros at Claire's

Fur hat 20 euros at Claire's

 Subscribe now and receive new White Rabbit posts in a Reader!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2009 7:42 pm

    Yep I used to and think I could go there again especially when it gets freezing

  2. White Rabbit permalink*
    November 11, 2009 8:00 pm

    I am glad you share my newly acquired passion for fur hats Nicky (not the real ones though…) Let me know if you decide to get one 🙂

  3. November 14, 2009 6:16 pm

    That hat is awesome. It looks really great on you. I live in canada, so if it is adorable and warm, i think i will fall in love… i am seriously going to go look for one now! Thanks for the post!

  4. White Rabbit permalink*
    November 15, 2009 12:47 pm

    Thanks Kristen! I am glad I inspired you, I guess the hat will be great for Canadian winter! Let me know if you post it on you site! 🙂

  5. whisty permalink
    November 17, 2009 4:38 pm

    Great hat! Looks lovely and cosy! x

  6. Kristi permalink
    November 21, 2009 1:09 am

    Just ordered my husband a russian hat, as well as trapper hats for my son and myself. They are predicting a very frigid winter this year and we were buying these to keep warm. However, my son was pleased with the design and I did get a pink one. *smile* Oh, I ordered them from FurHatWorld. Hope they are good quality!!

  7. White Rabbit permalink*
    November 21, 2009 12:25 pm

    Oh, the pink one must be stunning Kristi! I am sure you will survive the frigid winter this year, good thinking!

  8. MEl permalink
    December 10, 2009 12:12 am

    I want one of this hat!! ho can I give one?
    Where?
    please tell me!!!
    byee

  9. White Rabbit permalink*
    December 10, 2009 9:53 am

    You can get them in Claire’s Accessories, see the link in my post 🙂

  10. Jessica permalink
    October 17, 2010 7:48 pm

    This hat is SO adorable! I actually went to claire’s yesterday and I bought myself this hat:

    http://www.claires.com/site/products/styleAlbum.jsp?name=Fashion+Accessories&type=&styleType=&id=cat70014

    Just look at the “Hats” section, and click the right arrow once. It should be next to the “Brown Bear Critter Hat”. It’s called “Brown Fur Hat with Ears”. In person, it’s actually much darker and it has some light brown/blonde and black in the color. I live in Florida though, but I thought I would get myself this hat for Halloween since it’s coming up soon. I’m might be going as a bear. (Not sure yet) But I will be wearing it to my bus stop for school and anywhere else really for when it gets cold in late December to Mid-February. It cost me $25 in total, but it’s worth it. (So soft and warm)

    Even though you wrote and posted all this about a year ago, I just thought I would share this with you lmao 🙂
    PS: I LOVE that outfit! Great jeans (or jegging)/boots/boot cover combo! The shirt ties it together! x)

  11. hat fanatic permalink
    November 9, 2010 10:36 pm

    im getting this hat if my local claires store has it. i might not wear in in public but i will this winter. looks so cozy. i hope they have it so bad!!!

Leave a Reply

