Skip to content

“Tweed On” – Story of a Fashion Trend

November 8, 2009

I decided to move to Dublin in January 2005. Not knowing how long I will stay on the one side, and the notorious luggage restrictions on the other, made the choice of my new wardrobe challenging, to say the least.

Talking about capsule wardrobe, I’ve learnt a lot about the basics and all their possible variations while trying to anticipate every occasion, weather forecast, and the length of time before I could land some new clothes.A suit for the interviews was a priority, followed by two pairs of jeans, a few tops, a party dress, and the usual must haves.

But there was something special in my luggage as well – a tweed jacket and a matching skirt.  A few months before, my grandmother had given me a few yards of tweed preserved for decades, thus qualified as authentic vintage fabric. First, I had no idea what to do with the materials, so I just put them aside for “later”.

A few weeks before my flight, however, an idea popped into my head. I was going to have a handmade tweed suit! It made perfect sense. Popular in Ireland, warm, practical yet elegant and the most important factor – multifunctional!

I gave the vintage tweed suit a modern twist with red tights and accessories

I gave the vintage tweed suit a modern twist with red tights and accessories

 

At that time I wasn’t aware how fashionable tweed will become. Originally worn as men’s sportswear, tweed became a trend thanks to Coco Chanel who introduced her famous collarless jacket and straight skirt.

Today, tweed is used not only for jackets and skirts but also for dresses, hot pants, hats, shoes, boots, you name it!  Modern tweed comes in all sorts of colours, textures and patterns. Sophisticated when worn with dress skirt or trousers and casual when paired with distressed jeans, tweed is one of the hottest trends of A/W 2009.

I found this small Tommy Hilfiger tweed bag in a Dundrum charity shop

I found this small Tommy Hilfiger tweed bag in a Dundrum charity shop

Like denim, tweed is one of those timeless fabrics with a quality of reinventing themselves. Originally created for utilitarian use, both materials became hugely popular in fashion world and have been worn in all kind of styles, shapes and colours.

I wonder if my grandmother knew all this when she gave me those few yards of the lovely grey tweed…

The black sheep skin (also from my grandmother) makes the tweed even more special. (I am not having a bad hait day in case you were wondering, it is the wind:)

The black sheep skin (also from my grandmother) makes the tweed even more special. (I am not having a bad hait day in case you were wondering, it is the wind:)

 Subsribe now and receive new White Rabbit posts in a reader!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2009 7:45 pm

    That is one GORGEOUS suit. How jealous am I? I’d def hire you 🙂

  2. White Rabbit permalink*
    November 9, 2009 10:41 am

    Thanks Clare! Although I didn’t do interviews in this suit it gave me confidence in the first rough weeks 🙂

  3. November 9, 2009 1:12 pm

    Terrific suit and love the accessories plus great pics, all the ingredients of a fab blog

  4. November 9, 2009 1:25 pm

    I love the nipped in waist of the jacket!

  5. White Rabbit permalink*
    November 9, 2009 1:35 pm

    Thanks Nicky!

    I like the waist too Missmilki, I think the suit is very 40’s style, nipped in waist, straight skirt…

  6. whisty permalink
    November 10, 2009 9:49 am

    Utterly fabulous! Love tweed suits, I was given a maroon vintage one with a fur collar about a year ago. You’ve inspired me to wear it again! Thanks! xxx

  7. White Rabbit permalink*
    November 11, 2009 8:07 pm

    Thanks Whisty! I guess I will see your maroon suit on your blog soon 🙂 I hope so! I can lend you the vintage style maroon hat I made?…

  8. November 17, 2009 2:42 pm

    They are very lovely tights!
    And I do like tweed- having a particular weakness for pink ones. When I am a lady I would very much love to have a Chanel suit.

    Florrie x

  9. White Rabbit permalink*
    November 19, 2009 10:24 am

    Yes, I have noticed your love for pink on your blog! It is one of my favourite colours too although I prefer it in darker shades…

Leave a Reply

