Skip to content

When Lucy van Pelt met The Sartorialist – The world’s most renowned fashion blogger & street fashion photographer

October 15, 2009

Now I have to admit that I didn’t make it to The Sartorialist, I know it is an awful shame, White Rabbit of all people!! I am not going to share all my excuses with you except ONE – I knew my friend Lucy Van Pelt is going to be there. She already proved to be almost like my second pair of eyes at the Quack + Dirk Fashion Show, so I had all my trust in her descriptive skills. She would probably notice details I would never, so it is even better than being there myself!

One more thing – Scott did an amazing  job in Dublin! Check out his 12th-14th Oct photos! He seemed particularly keen on Irish Rughby.

On Sunday 4th of October I nearly choked on my breakfast roll when I read in the Irish Times supplement magazine that The Sartorialist http://www.thesartorialist.blogspot.com/ was coming to Dublin to promote his book on the following Friday. I made a beeline for the laptop and started frantic googling. See, the article didn’t mention where, only when! Google had no information available on the book signing, and it began to dawn on me that some supreme detective skills were needed in order to find out the location of the event.
 
Undeterred, I pressed on and started ringing Dublin bookshops. After mispronouncing and spelling out The Sartorialist half a dozen times on the phone and getting nowhere, I figured that the signing wouldn’t take place in a chain book shop.
 
I started browsing his blog in earnest for clues. I finally found a thread with hundreds of messages discussing his Dublin visit. Two hours later, I had read every single message and yet no confirmation on the location. But I was getting somewhere – I found one reply helpful. It was from Dublin designer Helen James confirming that she would be attending and that she had already signed up. Aha! That was my first clue; I needed to sign up somewhere. I decided to send a random email to Helen and see if she would help a fellow fashion addict and The Sartorialist fan. Would she ever! She replied to me very quickly, giving me all the details of the book signing which was to take place in Gallery of Photography in Temple Bar. Thank you Helen! You can read her thoughts on the visit here: http://helenjamesdesign.blogspot.com/
 
Like a kid at Christmas I spent the week in a nervous frenzy. First step was to make sure I was on the list, so I emailed Gallery of Photography. http://www.galleryofphotography.ie/ The service I received from them was efficient and friendly, and they gave me all the details I needed. The next step was a daunting one: What would you wear if you met one of the most influential people in the fashion industry, who’s bread and butter is taking photos of regular people in great clothes? Now I do understand he was not here to personally scout me, but this is The Sartorialist, and you gotta make an effort! Nothing in my wardrobe (OK, three wardrobes) seemed good enough. I asked around and some people said “Wear something mad!” and some said “When in doubt, keep it simple”. I followed the advice of the latter group, which was very grown up of me.
 
On Friday 9th of October I had butterflies in my stomach. As I made my way to the location, the heavens opened and I got completely drenched. I didn’t let that dampen my spirits, even though the pouring rain sure as hell dampened my outfit.
 
As I arrived at the Gallery, I was informed straight away by the helpful staff members, that I am on the “better, seated list”. This was very good news, although it added to my nervousness. I bought my copy of the book, and went upstairs. I found a front row seat which suited me well.
Two fierce fashionistas who sat next to me said it was pretty easy to find the location: They knew they were in the right place when they saw all the high heels. In the rain.
 
The Sartorialist aka Scott Schuman came across as ordinary (in a good way), humorous and warm. He was not wearing any socks which I believe stems from his affection for Italian men’s fashion. He has the bluest eyes you’ve ever seen. Oh, focus Lucy! He spoke about how he does not believe in listing the brands & labels of the clothes people wear in his photos, as it’s not about that. “It’s not what you wear, it’s how you wear it”. He very rarely likes the whole outfit, but just a small detail which can lift up the atmosphere of the outfit. He is not into fashion in the most traditional sense, but finds interest in people. You only have to look at his photos to realise that his strength is the way he interacts with people. There is warmth in the pictures. Who said the fashion world is cold?
 
He found Stockholm and Rio de Janeiro the hardest locations to find people to photograph. Stockholm, because people tend to wear just the latest three or four styles and end up all looking the same, and Rio de Janeiro because it’s hard to find the middle class there.
Most days he takes photos from sunrise until sunset, except in New York where he has a lot of meetings and also lives his normal life and takes his kids to school.
 
There was a scramble as we were trying to form a queue clutching our books. I lost my momentum and before I realised the queue snaked past my seat. I had to either ease my way in to the queue from the front row seat (read: jump the queue), or go all the way to the back of the queue. I was pushed in the middle of the queue by a fellow front row lady giving me encouragement “Come on, we were in the front row, that’s gotta count for something!” To which I whimpered: “But I don’t want 50 fashionistas clubbing me to death!”
 
He had a friendly word for everyone who’s book he signed. What did he say to me, I hear you ask? I will keep that between me and The Sartorlialist.
 
Lucy van Pelt.

the book signing

The Sartorialist in Dublin - book signing

The Sartorialist in Dublin

The Sartorialist in Dublin

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2009 11:03 am

    That’s about the best account of the book signing that I’ve read yet. Thanks! 🙂

  2. White Rabbit permalink*
    October 15, 2009 11:06 am

    Lucy, did you that?? Thanks missmilki!

  3. October 17, 2009 9:02 pm

    great post, Thanks for the Link x

  4. White Rabbit permalink*
    October 19, 2009 9:06 am

    Thanks Helen, it was great to come across your blog, it is on my blogroll now!

Leave a Reply

