Skip to content

Fashion Design Week 1

October 4, 2009

It is almost the end of the weekend and I haven’t managed to complete everything I  planned…so I will start the week trying to catch up…welcome to my life, always behind the schedule!

I am very excited  because I am working on a few great projects and I can’t wait to see them finished. There are two weeks left of  the millinery course which means I’ve got to finish my hats this week and present them next week. I am a bit  nervous…

This weekend I decided on the decorations so here is the rough idea.

First Steps in Millinery

First Steps in Millinery

I wanted to keep them as simple as possible, to create a balance between colour and shape and keep them classic but add a bit of a quirk. If everything goes according to the plan I will have a small portfolio with images of how to wear these hats…

My other project is this cocoon shaped hooded jersey dress.

Hooded jersey dress

Hooded jersey dress

I was inspired by this loose dress with electric motif but I wanted to create something comfortable and cozy yet stylish…I added a lot of gathers and extra folds and the cocoon shape to make it snug for crispy winter days.
The pattern is almost ready and the fabric is purchased…
6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2009 5:42 pm

    Hi! Thanks for your comment. I got the camera on ebay and funnily enough it came from Ukraine. There was a version released for the English market too but I like this one with the Russian writing on it. Its lovely to hear you remember your Grandad having one.

    Did you find out about the Sartorialist yet? Apparently the book signing is Friday lunchtime in the Gallery of Photography and you need to ring them to put your name on the list. I wish I could go but I’m stuck down here in Cork, so near but yet so far! 😉

    I love your millinery! Making hats sounds like so much fun! I always wish I was glamorous enough to wear a hat but I’ve never been brave enough. I like your design for the dress too. I look forward to seeing how it turns out. I really like your blog and I’ll be following you from now on! 🙂

  2. White Rabbit permalink*
    October 5, 2009 9:24 pm

    Thanks for the info MissMilky! – both on The Sartorialist and the camera!

    I am glad you liked my designs – I was a bit shy to get started…

    Will defenitely visit your blog too!

  3. October 7, 2009 11:17 am

    Thanks for the comment on my blog, really nice 🙂
    Good luck with your hat presentation!
    http://dandeliondaydreamer.blogspot.com/

  4. October 9, 2009 11:35 am

    Coool i’d love to do a course in millinary. Had set my sights on making a hat for the galway races during the summer, my lack of concentration on a single task got in the way unfortunately!!!

  5. White Rabbit permalink*
    October 9, 2009 3:00 pm

    Actually one thing I like about millinery is that it is so rewarding! While you can spend weeks on making up a dress, it can take you less than an hour to come up with a hat!

Trackbacks

  1. My Fashion Design – First Steps in Millinery « White Rabbit

Leave a Reply

