Skip to content

The Sartorialist is Coming to Dublin!

October 3, 2009

The Sartorialist has published his first book, 500 pages full of his images and a bit of commentary, and  is coming to Dublin on Friday, the 9th of October!

The visit is part of his promotion tour, so he will be signing his book but will also take photographs. I have no idea where exactly it will be happening, so  please let me know!!!

He has a particular eye for spotting the true fashion lovers among ordinary people but you don’t have to wear the latest hot labels to be noticed by him. Oh no, he is after something much more ethereal and abstract, I can’t really name it but I can tell you it the the very esssence of fashion…

He has this ability to capture a personality behind the clothes and communicate a story…you know what I mean?

Yes, he inspired many, including the famous fashion illustrator and blogger Garance Dore, who writes beautifully about his work

Scott, the Sartorialist is a bit of a phenomenon now, there is even a flowchart circulating out there with instructions how to get photographed by him. Priceless!  Although my feelings are a bit ambivalent – does that mean that he became a little bit predictable?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2009 10:46 am

    I’m addicted to the Sartorialist. Such an inspiring website. Hadn’t heard about this visit so thanks for the info. Need to find out details now so I can stalk him- I mean get a book signed.

    • White Rabbit permalink*
      October 4, 2009 4:10 pm

      Please let me know when you find out! Apparently there are two versions of his book – a paper back and a more pricey hard cover for his most committed fans…

  2. White Rabbit permalink*
    October 5, 2009 11:43 am

    This is what I got from a very dedicated fan of The Sartorialist :

    “I’ve spent an hour this morning trying to find out where The Sart signs. I found out that we have to sign up for the signing. I’ve searched his website high and low, googled in various ways, checked the website of each bookshop in Dublin, read through his FB page, checked the publisher’s own website yet NOTHING. There must be a place where you can sign up, so I wonder if you have to be a member of something to access this information, or the place is simply not published yet. I. will. not. give. up.”

  3. October 5, 2009 8:29 pm

    Hi White Rabbit, thanks for stopping by and your comment! Nice to see a fellow Irish blogger 🙂 I have literally been stalking the internet this morning trying to find out where this signing is taking place! There is absolutely no information! Very top secret 🙂 His book is £20 sterling or £100 sterling for the bespoke hard back edition! Even though I think it’s cheaper on Amazon 🙂 Please let me know if you find out where the signing is taking place:)

    SequinsandBangles xx

    • White Rabbit permalink*
      October 5, 2009 9:22 pm

      I’ve just heard from Missmilky@blogspot.com that the book signing is Friday lunchtime in the Gallery of Photography and you need to ring them to put your name on the list.

  4. White Rabbit permalink*
    October 6, 2009 4:37 pm

    Full info published on HIS BLOG!
    Dublin Signing
    Friday October 9th
    1:50-3:30pm
    at The Gallery of Photography
    Meeting House Square
    Temple Bar, Dublin 2

    Reception after the Signing
    Friday October 9th
    6:30-9pm
    at Harvey Nichols
    Dundrum Town Centre, Dublin 16
    in the First Floor Bar

    dublinevents@harveynichols.com

Leave a Reply

