Skip to content

Q+D Fashion Show in Dublin

September 30, 2009

I was in Prague last week which was tryly amazing, inspiring and everything in between, and I missed the Quack+Dirk Fashion Show

No regrets, as I said, Prague was breathtaking, I just wish I could have done both…

Thankfully, my friend and partner in crime Lucy van Pelt was here to back up White Rabbit and the record of the evening she gave me was so colourful that I almost felt I was there…

Here you go…

Dublin Fashion Show

Dublin Fashion Show

Whilst White Rabbit was out of town, she sent me on a mission to find the most fashionable event of the weekend. “That’s no challenge!” I thought snickering to myself, as I knew immediately where to go. I was to see Quack + Dirk fashion show.

I couldn’t have been more exited on Friday 25th as I made my way (slowly, slightly hobbling, in spiky high heels) towards Krystle Nightclub to attend the evening of glamour.
(Truthfully speaking, White Rabbit may have given me a hint about the event, but let’s not get distracted about such a small detail)

Upon my arrival I was dazzled by the bright lights, funky music and Dublin’s fashion crème de la crème. Everyone was certainly wearing their Sunday Best and I suffered severe neck pain turning my head rapidly from left to right trying to take it all in. Oh the beautiful people! My, how dashing the patronage was!
Just as I was thinking I can take no more of this sensory overload of trendiness, I heard an exited wave of shush in the audience. The show was about to start. My fashion instinct prickled, while I got comfortable in my (front row naturally, dahling) seat and focused my gaze on the runway.

First I was treated to the collections of three up-and-coming designers: Karolina of Secret Style, Lara, and Caroline of Daddy Larry. Both Karolina and Caroline sell their clothes in the Loft Market in Powerscourt Centre. It’s worth popping in, as the clothes are innovative yet wearable and it was a pleasure to see their talent.

Finally, the moment we were all waiting for, the headlining Quack + Dirk. I think I forgot to breath for a few minutes, as the stunning garments floated past me on equally stunning models. The clothes can be described as vintage with a twist. Amongst them I saw handmade dresses, ethereal tops and daring pantsuits.

Most fashion decades were represented, but the best part is that the clothes are not intimidating nor least bit costume-y, and they can be easily worn with current styles or accessories.
I loved the gold hot pants the best. No, wait, my favourite has to be the black chiffon dress with white polka dots. On the other hand, I covet the vivid turquoise mini dress with a skinny belt. Oh I can’t decide! They were all fabulous and I am busily planning a day trip to Fairview, where the boutique is located. I shall be in heaven.

The whole evening was extremely professionally executed, the models were beautiful, the clothes even more so. The icing on the cake were the daring hair do’s by David Marshall and pretty make up by The Make Up Crew.

Thank you Deirdre of Quack + Dirk for the fashion feast -it was an evening to remember!
Lucy van Pelt”

You can have a look at Lucy van Pelt’s favourites and some amazing pieces at the gallery…

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. whisty permalink
    October 2, 2009 9:14 am

    Great pics Merlisca! Your investigative reporter did you proud! Does this also mean that you are back?!

  2. White Rabbit permalink*
    October 2, 2009 9:17 am

    Yeap, I am back 🙂 Prague was stunning, planning to post some pictures over the wekend!

  3. October 3, 2009 3:50 pm

    It was a great show, I went along with Whisty..love that orange print dress in the middle, esp if it could taken up into a mini dress..

  4. White Rabbit permalink*
    October 3, 2009 4:33 pm

    Yes, the pattern is beautiful on the orange dress and I agree, mini is more ”in” at the moment, also more practical..

Trackbacks

  1. When Lucy van Pelt met The Sartorialist – The world’s most renowned fashion blogger & street fashion photographer. « White Rabbit

Leave a Reply

